Any kind of work related to auctioning requires an Arkansas auction license. Here we elaborate on the process of how you can obtain, renew, or transfer it in this part of the US.
Above all, there are two requirements to qualify for the permit.
- First of all, the applicants ought to be at least 18 yrs old just like it is in the case of a Tennessee auction license.
- Secondly, they ought to have a good moral character and be trustworthy and competent. To prove this, 2 reference letters written by well-known individuals are necessary. It has to indicate whether the applicant has the best interest of the public and bears a good or satisfactory reputation. In addition, competence is determined through a test.
Steps to complete to get an Arkansas auction license
The process, however complicated it may seem, is not difficult.
- In the first place, submit the documents, application forms, and payment receipts. Yet, remember that all the docs must be presented 30 days before the examinations. Very importantly, there should be no missing documents. Otherwise, your request will be rejected.
- In the second place, take the exam and get an acceptable grade. Arkansas Auctioneers Licensing Board (AALB) schedules exams 4 times a year. Usually, that is in the first, fourth, seventh, and tenth months of each year. Schedule your exam on one of the dates. Try to score as high as possible. Nevertheless, even after satisfactory grades, your appeal for a permit is incomplete. There is a final step to follow.
- At last, pass the background check. Otherwise, a non-favorable history check may result in the denial of the permit issuance.
The package of docs necessary for submission is different for locals and non-locals. Yet, some things are obligatory for all applicants. The list of those items is the following:
- Completed and notarized application and CM600 Form enclosed money order or check
- Filled-in Police identification form
- Passport-style photograph (2×2) with full face and shoulders, taken within the last six months
- $300 payment (payable to the board), where $200 is the license and refund fee, and $100 is the test fee. Remember that no cash is accepted.
- Letters of very good standing from all the other states where you got a permit, obviously, if there are any. You can request that kind of letter online.
In addition, other items are obligatory for each of the following subcategories.
AR residents have to contact 501-682-1156 or [email protected] to receive the paperwork for background inspection.
There are additional requirements for the non-residents who do not hold a license from any other state or hold it from a state that has no reciprocity agreements with AR. They have to fill in and notarize the Consent to Service of Jurisdiction Form. Also, they have to request and return filled-in FBI Fingerprint Cards.
Non-residents who hold a certificate from a state that has reciprocity agreements with AR don’t need to sit for a test. But except for the docs presented above, they have to complete the Consent to Service of Jurisdiction Form and FBI Fingerprint Cards.
Your qualification is valid for 12 months. In other words, it should be renewed annually. Each year on the 30th of June, it expires. Another key point is that a grace period of 120 days exists. Under these circumstances, if you don’t pay the renewal cost after this period, penalties will apply.
What’s more important to remember is the fact that you have to successfully finish a 6-hour continuing education (CE) course before renewal. Correspondence courses approved by the AALB are another option for gaining credit. Without a doubt, online CE is also available at various training schools.
Usually, the AR Auctioneers Association has six workshops annually across different cities. In case you have questions, just call 580-327-7525 or email at [email protected].
Nonetheless, there is an exception. If you are 55 or older and have been certified for the past consecutive ten yrs, CE is not mandatory.